House Panel Lifts Horse Slaughter Ban

Measure has to go to Congress

A House panel voted to lift the ban on horse slaughter in the United States.

The move by the House Appropriations Committee would reverse a horse slaughter ban contained in a catchall spending bill signed into law by President Trump in early May.

An attempt to renew the slaughter ban was defeated by a 27-25 vote.

Horse slaughter has been banned in the United States for more than a decade. The ban is enforced by defunding the Agriculture Department’s inspectors at horse slaughter plants.

The defunding is in place through Sept. 30.

Republicans from western states with large populations of wild horses are reportedly one of the primary opponents of the horse slaughter ban.

Lawmakers who spoke out against the amendment to ban horse slaughter lamented the long-distance transport of American horses to Canada and Mexico to slaughter for human consumption, according to the Humane Society of the United States.

Those same lawmakers that voted to reopen horse slaughter plants are reportedly not co-sponsoring the Safeguard American Food Experts (SAFE) Act, H.R. 113. If passed, it would forbid the transport of U.S. horses for slaughter for human consumption to other countries.

“This isn’t over, and we will look for opportunities to reinstate the ban as the appropriations process continues,” Congressman Earl Blumenauer (OR-03) said.

There are currently no horse slaughter facilities operating in the states. The last closed in 2007.

Horse meat is eaten regularly and considered a delicacy in Italy, Kazakhstan, and Japan.

The vote came as the panel approved a Department of Agriculture funding bill.

It opens the barn door allowing horse slaughter to gain a step forward, but the measure still has to pass the Senate.

Here is how your legislators voted.

YES (25) – Proponents of Horse Slaughter Ban

Peter Aguilar, D-Calif.-31, Sanford Bishop, D-Ga.-2, Matt Cartwright, D-Pa.-17, Katherine Clark, D-Mass.-5, Rosa DeLauro, D-Conn.-3, Charlie Dent, R- Pa.-15, David Joyce, R-Ohio-14, Marcy Kaptur, D-Ohio-9, Derek Kilmer, D-Wash.-6, Barbara Lee, D-Calif.-13, Nita Lowey, D-N.Y.-17, Betty McCollum, D-Minn.-4, Grace Meng, D-N.Y.-6, Chellie Pingree, D-Maine-1, Mark Pocan, D-Wis.-2, David Price, D-N.C.-4, Mike Quigley, D-Ill.-5, Tom Rooney, R-Fla.-17, Lucille Roybal-Allard, D-Calif.-40, Dutch Ruppersberger, D-Md.-2, Tim Ryan, D-Ohio-13, José Serrano, D-N.Y.-15, Peter Visclosky, D-Ind.-1, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, D-Fla.-23, and Kevin Yoder, R-Kan.-3

NO (27) – Opponents of Horse Slaughter Ban

Robert Aderhold, R-Ala.-4, Mark Amodie, R-Nev.-2, Ken Calvert, R-Calif.-42, John Carter, R-Texas-31, Tom Cole, R-Okla.-4, Henry Cuellar, D-Texas-28, John Abney Culberson, R-Texas-7, Mario Diaz-Balart, R-Fla.-25, Chuck Fleischmann, R-Tenn.-3, Jeff Fortenberry, R-Nev.-1, Rodney Frelinghuysen, R-N.J.-11, Kay Granger, R-Texas-12, Tom Graves, R-Ga.-14, Andy Harris, R-Md.-1, Jaime Herrera Beutler, R-Wash.-3, Evan Jenkins, R-W.Va.-3, John Moolenaar, R-Mich.-4, Dan Newhouse, R-Wash.-4, Steven Palazzo, R-Miss.-4, Martha Roby, R-Ala.-2, Harold Rogers, R-Ky.-5, Michael Simpson, R-Idaho-2, Chris Stewart, R-Utah-2, Scott Taylor, R-Va.-2, David Valadao, R-Calif.-21, Steve Womack, R-Ark.-3, and David Young, R-Iowa-3