House Committee Blocks Defunding of Horse Slaughter Photo © Humane Society of United States

House Committee Blocks Defunding of Horse Slaughter

The House Appropriations Committee defeated an effort to extend the ban of horse slaughter on American soil.
The amendment to the agriculture appropriations bill was offered by Rep. Sam Farr, a Democrat from California. The vote resulted in a tie, but the measure was not adopted. It would have prevented inspection funding of horse slaughter facilities.
Here is a look at how lawmakers voted.
Voted yes (against horse slaughter):
Sanford Bishop (D-GA), Ander Crenshaw (R-FL), Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), Charlie Dent (R-PA), Sam Farr (D-CA), Chakah Fattah (D-PA), Michael Honda (D-CA), Steve Israel (D-NY), David Jolly (R-FL), David Joyce (R-OH), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Nita Lowey (D-NY), Betty McCollum (D-MN), Chellie Pingree (D-ME), David Price (D-NC), Mike Quigley (D-IL), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA), Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD), Tim Ryan (D-OH), Jose Serrano (D-NY), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL), Kevin Yoder (R-KS).
Voted no (for horse slaughter):
Robert Aderholt (R-AL), Mark Amodei (R-NV), Ken Calvert (R-CA), John Carter (R-TX), Tom Cole (R-OK), Henry Cuellar (D-TX), Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL), Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN), Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE), Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ), Kay Granger (R-TX), Sam Graves (R-MO), Andy Harris (R-MD), Jaime Herrera Buetler (R-WA), Evan Jenkins (R-WV), Steven Palazzo (R-MS), Scott Rigell (R-VA), Martha Roby (R-AL), Hal Rogers (R-KY), Mike Simpson (R-ID), Chris Stewart (R-UT), David Valadao (R-CA), Steve Womack (R-AR), David Young (R-IA).
Did not vote:
John Culberson (R-TX); Tom Rooney (R-FL); Peter Visclosky (D-IN).
The Senate Appropriations Committee is expected to consider a similar amendment.
Lawmakers introduced the legislation to prevent the re-establishment of horse slaughter operations within the United States.